Skip to content

President’s Letter (April 10, 2021)

Catania, Italy (February 15, 2021)
Dr. Filippo Drago
Dear Colleagues, At the end of the 15th scientific meeting of the AOPT, on behalf of the Board of Directors, I would like to express my great satisfaction with the results obtained, the great participation and the high profile of scientific contributions. I must also thank my colleagues in Miami for their excellent work in organizing and conducting the congress. I have participated in almost all the biennial congresses of the AOPT since its foundation, but I think this has featured the highest concentration and diversity of new ideas, inputs, and proposals formulated on the basis of a huge amount of scientific data ever presented. The great emphasis we gave to young researchers was the added value of the Congress, which provided great visibility to the AOPT and brought it to the scientific limelight as a modern, young and dynamic society. Therefore, despite the technical difficulties that the health emergency entailed, we can all say that it was worth it. Our work now resumes for other new goals to be achieved. In this context, I announce that AOPT is seeking two Guest Editors for a special issue of our flagship publication the Journal of Ocular Pharmacology and Therapeutics, under the leadership of the new Editor in Chief, Dr. Uday Kompella.

Filippo Drago, M.D.,Ph.D.
PRESIDENT
University of Catania Medical School
f.drago@unict.it

Ashwat Jayagopal, Ph.D.
VICEPRESIDENT/PRESIDENT ELECT
Vanderbilt University Medical Center
ash.jayagopal@gmail.com

Thomas Yorio, Ph.D.
IMMEDIATE-PAST-PRESIDENT
University of North TX Health Science Center
Thomas.yorio@unthsc.edu

Shusheng Wang
TREASURER
swang1@tulane.edu

Cheryl L. Rowe-Rendleman, Ph.D.
SECRETARY
Omar Consulting Group, LLC
Crrendleman@omarconsultants.com

Malinda Fitzgerald
BOARD ADVISOR
drmecfitz@gmail.com

Dan Stamer
JOURNAL EDITOR-IN-CHIEF
Duke University
dan.stamer@duke.edu

TRUSTEES

Sanjoy Bhattacharya
University of Miami Miller School of Medicine
sbhattacharya@med.miami.edu

Claudio Bucolo, Ph.D.
University of Catania, Italy
Claudio.bucolo@unict.it

Dorette Ellis
University of North TX Health Science Center
dorette.ellis@unthsc.edu

Shahid Husain
Medical University of South Carolina
husain@musc.edu

Goldis Malek
Duke University
gmalek@duke.edu

Najam Sharif
Santen Inc., USA
najam.sharif@santen.com

Chi-Ho To
sochto@polyu.edu.hk

Heping Xu
heping.xu@qub.ac.uk