Skip to content

President’s Letter (December 9, 2021)

Catania, Italy (February 15, 2021)
Dr. Filippo Drago
Dear Colleagues, We are still concerned about the COVID-19 pandemic, but work does not wait, and we must move forward. I’m up to you for some announcements. Nominations for the appointment of 2022 AOPT Fellows are open until December 31, 2021. If you intend to nominate yourself or a colleague, please check the criteria described on the AOPT website : – Membership – Abstract submission to the AOPT Congress – Paper submission to JOPT – Board service – JOPT reviews – Editorial Board service – Scientific program responsible for AOPT Congress I am also pleased to inform you that the next AOPT Biennial Congress will take place in Shenyang (China) in August 2023. In this regard, I must emphasize that the month of August was chosen by the AOPT Board of Trustees in conjunction with the Shenyang Planning Group because it will favor the influx of many international colleagues, and because the traditional February- March period is very cold in that area. The Congress will take place in a hybrid form to allow those who cannot travel to Shenyang to follow the scientific sessions from afar. You can get more information from the AOPT website. Finally, I want to announce that the publisher of our flagship journal in partnership with the Rosalind Franklin Society, has issued a $1000 award for an article published in 2021 by a woman in science or an underrepresented minority scientist. Please send your nomination to the JOPT editorial coordinator Sheryl Nale at jopt_eo@liebertpub.com by January 7, 2022.

Filippo Drago, M.D.,Ph.D.
PRESIDENT
University of Catania Medical School
f.drago@unict.it

Ashwat Jayagopal, Ph.D.
VICEPRESIDENT/PRESIDENT ELECT
Vanderbilt University Medical Center
ash.jayagopal@gmail.com

Thomas Yorio, Ph.D.
IMMEDIATE-PAST-PRESIDENT
University of North TX Health Science Center
Thomas.yorio@unthsc.edu

Shusheng Wang
TREASURER
swang1@tulane.edu

Cheryl L. Rowe-Rendleman, Ph.D.
SECRETARY
Omar Consulting Group, LLC
Crrendleman@omarconsultants.com

Malinda Fitzgerald
BOARD ADVISOR
drmecfitz@gmail.com

Dan Stamer
JOURNAL EDITOR-IN-CHIEF
Duke University
dan.stamer@duke.edu

TRUSTEES

Sanjoy Bhattacharya
University of Miami Miller School of Medicine
sbhattacharya@med.miami.edu

Claudio Bucolo, Ph.D.
University of Catania, Italy
Claudio.bucolo@unict.it

Dorette Ellis
University of North TX Health Science Center
dorette.ellis@unthsc.edu

Shahid Husain
Medical University of South Carolina
husain@musc.edu

Goldis Malek
Duke University
gmalek@duke.edu

Najam Sharif
Santen Inc., USA
najam.sharif@santen.com

Chi-Ho To
sochto@polyu.edu.hk

Heping Xu
heping.xu@qub.ac.uk