Skip to content

President’s Letter (June 3, 2019)

Catania, Italy (June 3, 2019)
Dr. Filippo Drago
Dear Colleagues, As the President of the Association of Ocular Pharmacology and Therapeutics (AOPT), I would like to introduce myself to all members of the Society and use this opportunity to share a monthly correspondence with you through this “Letter from the President”. The new AOPT Executive Committee comprised of 4 officers and 8 trustees (see ) brings new hopes, plans, and energy to the community of Ocular Pharmacologists around the world. It is in this spirit that the work of the new Executive Committee for the 2019-2023 term is being executed. I look forward to a busy term that is punctuated with a lot of activities and (hopefully) a handful of worthwhile achievements. There are important activities planned for the next few months. First, we are trying to create a data-base of e-mail addresses of all Ocular Pharmacologists who might be interested in joining the AOPT. This is a major goal that will improve the communication route between AOPT and the Ocular Pharmacology community and will contribute to building the political “body” of AOPT. There are 4 classes of membership in AOPT: regular, associate,contributing, and emeritus. It is known that fees paid by regular members represent the base for the AOPT budget. However, I understand that institutional members are also willing to contribute to the AOPT activity. These contributing memberships include “corporations and associations who support the objectives of the AOPT”. In the meantime, we will accept free donations from public or private Institutions given to support educational and scientific activities of AOPT. On Monday May 29, the first meeting of the new Executive Committee was held in Vancouver, British Columbia during the 2019 ARVO Meeting. This was really an exciting experience that provided me with a clear idea of the high value of all members of the Executive Committee.The next meeting of the Executive Committee will be held June 11 via teleconference. I will keep you informed on further decisions and important issues of the AOPT.

Filippo Drago, M.D.,Ph.D.
University of Catania Medical School

Ashwat Jayagopal, Ph.D.
Vanderbilt University Medical Center

Thomas Yorio, Ph.D.
University of North TX Health Science Center

Shusheng Wang

Cheryl L. Rowe-Rendleman, Ph.D.
Omar Consulting Group, LLC

Malinda Fitzgerald

Dan Stamer
Duke University


Sanjoy Bhattacharya
University of Miami Miller School of Medicine

Claudio Bucolo, Ph.D.
University of Catania, Italy

Dorette Ellis
University of North TX Health Science Center

Shahid Husain
Medical University of South Carolina

Goldis Malek
Duke University

Najam Sharif
Santen Inc., USA

Chi-Ho To

Heping Xu